Sports Summary Logo
Pro Sports Summary Header

Horse Racing: Jockeying for Position       Share

17 May 2010

  A horse named Lookin at Lucky won the second race of the Triple Crown (called the Preakness) this past weekend dashing Super Saver's hopes of being the first horse to win The Triple Crown in 32 years. Super Saver won the Kentucky Derby a few weeks ago with jockey Calvin Borel on a very wet, sloppy track.  The win was an upset because Lookin at Lucky was the favorite.  Lookin at Lucky’s owner changed jockeys for the Preakness and it must have worked.   Horse racing fans were disappointed to hear that neither Lookin at Lucky or Super Saver will be racing in the Belmont Stakes.  This might be a good thing.  The Belmont Stakes is the longest of the three races and there is always the potential for an injury with a horse that has been ridden hard.  Horse racing has seen tragic endings in recent Triple Crown events.  The 2006 Kentucky Derby winner, Barbaro, was injured in the Preakness that same year.  After several surgeries, he eventually had to be euthanized.  In 2008, the filly Eight Belles finished second in the Kentucky Derby, but also had to be euthanized after breaking a leg

 One Liner:  “That little guy sure is a good jockey.”  Every jockey this year in the Preakness was male and carried 126 pounds.  That is their weight, fully clothed, with the saddle.  Most jockeys carry lead strips of weight in order to ensure they don’t exceed the 126 pound mark.  Fillies are only required to carry 121 pounds.  Most jockeys’ true body weight is only about 108-110 pounds.

 Send comments to:

The Basics

-There are 3 major horse races each year: The Kentucky Derby, The Preakness, and The Belmont Stakes.

-The races are commonly referred to as the Triple Crown.

-A horse has not won the Triple Crown since 1978 when a horse named Affirmed won all 3 races.


Triple Crown: The Kentucky Derby, The Preakness, and The Belmont Stakes


Filly: A female horse.  The Kentucky Derby had one filly, Devil May Care. There were no fillies in the field this year for the Preakness.